THEY’LL DESTROY US ALL!

It seems like everybody has chimed in about the Disney/Marvel madness. Normally, I’d most likely leave it to them as there are those who would do a far better job than I would. However, granted I do consider myself an all-around geek, meaning I do dive into the realm of comics from time to time, this would be a perfect time to make an exception….

The first thing I want to say is this:

don't panic

Seriously, don’t panic. This doesn’t mean an apocalypse. This isn’t going to Ruin Everything Forever. Times are tough so it’s not surprising that this even happened. As most people are pointing out, this isn’t a new thing altogether. Remember that Time Warner has DC? Have you seen Bugs Bunny appearing in Batman The Animated Series as the villain of the week? Didn’t think so. In reality, there are only two things that worry me: One, if Disney gets sucked into Viacom like Lithone in the beginning of Transformers: The Movie. Two, the possible implications for indie comic book owners.

Here’s the thing, every comic book store I know of orders their books and merchandise through Diamond. You might know them for their catalog, Previews, which most of the time, even customers can order out of. Needless to say, they’re an essential distributor. Friend of mine recently talked to a shop owner, he mentioned that the only thing that’s troublesome is if Disney tries to distribute independently. If this happens, Diamond just might go out of business….which, yeah, you can figure that this would be bad news for the industry. I’m not going to worry about it too much, but we can only hope each side of this new partnership won’t get in the way of the other.

And that’s all I’ve got to say about that. Don’t get caught up in the fireworks, guys and gals.

One thought on “THEY’LL DESTROY US ALL!

  1. Hi,

    I Googled “Don’t Panic” today, Towel Day (in memory of the late Douglas Adams.) Of all the 10.2M returns, the image in your blog seemed the most appropriate to use on my work PC desktop, just for today. I HOPE just for today.

    Thanks! :)

    p.s.
    Do you know where your towel is?

Leave a Reply

