Knocking Weight Out of Orbit

smf

Awhile back, I had asked for a review copy of Sayonara, Mr. Fatty: A Geek’s Diet Memoir; Toshio Okada’s quasi-memoirs about his miraculous 110lbs weight loss attempt. I figured, hey! I’ll review it for OUSA! This did not happen. R5 seemed to not work out either, things being the way they are. Now with my Dad recently out of surgery, I’ve devoted what little free time I’ve had to working on this and other projects of mine…and having to do a lot of waiting as a result of it. Believe it or not, the interim actually made me think back to this book–no, this is not a cop-out intro.

Read the short yet full review after the jump!

It’s no secret I’m a big guy; It was one of the first things people noticed when Colossal Epic Battle went online, my favorite reply being “What’s with the annoying fat gay guy?” (No, I’m not gay. For some reason though, some people believe I must be if I have a medium-high pitched voice. No idea how this logic works but I majorly digress.) I’ve held off on any permanent weight-loss solutions for one reason or another: “I don’t have the money for the gym yet”, “I want to go out for martial arts but there isn’t a school I like anywhere”, [Insert Desire and Its Roadblock Here]…it’s gone on like this for quite some time. Sayonara, Mr. Fatty is for people like me then. It’s the Final Alternative to all those dieting attempts that doesn’t really cost you anything–aside from the price of the book and the time you devote to the patented “Recording Diet”.

The way Okada goes about it, he sort of treats the Recording Diet as if it’s an experiment. Going through different stages (each named after a different stage of space flight), you start to record what you eat and when, moving up to recording calories and weight measurement. It helps you figure out why you’re eating at certain times and pick out patterns and trends. This isn’t all out of guilt, mind you, it’s all for helping you in losing weight. The key word here is “awareness”. It may sound like a bit much, but it’s set up in a way that your writing stuff down can become a good habit if you just devote the time. If you want a testimonial, I gave it a go mid-way through the book and found myself going down from a 46 waist size to a 42 after two months. Though the reason why I felt the desire to use the Recording Diet didn’t come from being impressed with the method, rather it was because of the book itself.

Sayonara, Mr Fatty! quickly becomes more than just another diet book, rather it turns into a companion. It’s a coach in those times when you’re wanting to give up, and the motivator for when you need to move on. In that respect, I think that’s where this book trumps anything else out there. Okada isn’t so full of himself that he’s convinced the diet is fool-proof; he even goes so far as to list other possible things to try BEFORE you try the Recording Diet. You’re not talking to Pretty Bleach-Haired Fit Person On The Cover Who’s Probably A Total Bag of Douche. Okada’s been there, he’s gone down the road you’re just starting to go down, and he’s not going to give up on you….which is weird to say about a book but it’s true. He’s not out to guilt you, he’s not out to brag, he wants to to be where he is. That’s why I and I’m sure anybody else who reads this will want to take a shot at the Recording Diet. After all, when you’ve got somebody like Okada in your corner, wouldn’t you want to give it everything you’ve got?

Sayonara Mr. Fatty: A Geek’s Diet Memoir is now available from Vertical, Inc.. Don’t be like me and wait, go buy a copy already!

3 thoughts on “Knocking Weight Out of Orbit

  1. I tell you what: if they make a sequel called Ohayo, Mr. Fatty!, I’ll read that one. Though I think that even though I weigh relatively little, I’m like 20% body fat or something on account that I’m too infirm to exercise and eat nothing but junk. I’m slowly dying though, as I used to always weigh 110 pounds and now I always weigh 120-125.

    • I wouldn’t really call it much of a scheme, really. It’s more like “Hey guys, I tried this and it sort of worked. Maybe you can try it too.” Like I said in the review, the key word here is awareness. It’s less about numbers and more of you noticing and figuring out your habits.

      Then again, I don’t know the absolute ins and outs of WW’s programs so there’s also a chance that it’s all one coincidence. :P

Leave a Reply

